Astrological Groups for Easy Understanding

Astrology and the zodiac are often grouped into differents groups, elements, qualities, rulings planets and more.  Here is a quick guide to the different sorts of groups you might encounter when researching astrology.

The Sun Signs

These are often what people are referring to when they talk about thier zodiac sign.  These are often seen in horoscopes, and cover the whole year with different signs.  The signs are:

  • Aries
  • Taurus
  • Gemini
  • Cancer
  • Leo
  • Libra
  • Virgo
  • Scorpio
  • Sagittarius
  • Capricorn
  • Aquarius
  • Pisces

The Planets

Sometimes, people refer to the different planets when they are talking about different times.  These are all the planets in our solar system, including the moon.


Sometimes, people refer to numbered houses, beginning with the first house, finishing with the twelfth house.

Elements and Qualities

The elements are;

  • Earth
  • Air
  • Fire
  • Water

Qualities could be cardinal, fixed or mutable.