Author: Astrology

Focus in on:  The Sun

Focus in on: The Sun

The sun is often known as the planet of self.  The sun is thought to represent the self, the ego or the personality of the person in question.  It is our identity to the world!  The sun speaks to creative ability and the power of the person in question ot meet everyday challenges life throws our way.

Our biological father, husband and other male influencers are ruled by the sun, as are children.  The sun’s energy is strong and with it comes authority, the ability to lead and a person’s core being.  Through the will of the sun, we learn to be ourselves in the world.

The sun is rather majestic, and in keeping with this, it exudes royalty and higher office.  The planet of the sun rules over our health and wellbeing.  The sun’s golden light is essential to life which gives us strength, energy and a will to succeed.

The Earth Element

The Earth Element

The Earth element is attached to the signs of Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn and it also rules the second, sixth and seventh houses.  All te earthy metaphors work here – “salt of the earth”, “feet planted firmly on the ground” etc.  Those who are based in an Earth sign are practical, grounded, dependable.  They do not take risks, instead, they prefer sure things!

Earth signs are the builders of the zodiac.  These signs see creation  as a tangible proposition.  Whether it is building jobs or a home, creating comfort is essential to an Earth sign.  Earth sign people feel best when they have accumulated good amount of possessions, there is also a risk that with this they can become a tad greedy and materialistic!

All About the First House

All About the First House

The First House is often known as the house of self.  The main point of the first house is the “home of the ascendant”, the sign that was rising on the eastern horizon at the exact moment of your birth.  By thinking of this in terms of sunrise and new starts, you can begin to understand the idea of the first house.

New beginings are often centered on the individual; the self and the attendant voyage of discovery define a person.  Who you will become, who you are and what you need to do to be your best self.  The first house speaks to the realisation of your potential.  This process of becoming your own individual is one of the best things we can do in our lives.

Astrological Groups for Easy Understanding

Astrological Groups for Easy Understanding

Astrology and the zodiac are often grouped into differents groups, elements, qualities, rulings planets and more.  Here is a quick guide to the different sorts of groups you might encounter when researching astrology.

The Sun Signs

These are often what people are referring to when they talk about thier zodiac sign.  These are often seen in horoscopes, and cover the whole year with different signs.  The signs are:

  • Aries
  • Taurus
  • Gemini
  • Cancer
  • Leo
  • Libra
  • Virgo
  • Scorpio
  • Sagittarius
  • Capricorn
  • Aquarius
  • Pisces

The Planets

Sometimes, people refer to the different planets when they are talking about different times.  These are all the planets in our solar system, including the moon.


Sometimes, people refer to numbered houses, beginning with the first house, finishing with the twelfth house.

Elements and Qualities

The elements are;

  • Earth
  • Air
  • Fire
  • Water

Qualities could be cardinal, fixed or mutable.