Category: Basics of Astrology

All About the First House

All About the First House

The First House is often known as the house of self.  The main point of the first house is the “home of the ascendant”, the sign that was rising on the eastern horizon at the exact moment of your birth.  By thinking of this in terms of sunrise and new starts, you can begin to understand the idea of the first house.

New beginings are often centered on the individual; the self and the attendant voyage of discovery define a person.  Who you will become, who you are and what you need to do to be your best self.  The first house speaks to the realisation of your potential.  This process of becoming your own individual is one of the best things we can do in our lives.

Astrological Groups for Easy Understanding

Astrological Groups for Easy Understanding

Astrology and the zodiac are often grouped into differents groups, elements, qualities, rulings planets and more.  Here is a quick guide to the different sorts of groups you might encounter when researching astrology.

The Sun Signs

These are often what people are referring to when they talk about thier zodiac sign.  These are often seen in horoscopes, and cover the whole year with different signs.  The signs are:

  • Aries
  • Taurus
  • Gemini
  • Cancer
  • Leo
  • Libra
  • Virgo
  • Scorpio
  • Sagittarius
  • Capricorn
  • Aquarius
  • Pisces

The Planets

Sometimes, people refer to the different planets when they are talking about different times.  These are all the planets in our solar system, including the moon.


Sometimes, people refer to numbered houses, beginning with the first house, finishing with the twelfth house.

Elements and Qualities

The elements are;

  • Earth
  • Air
  • Fire
  • Water

Qualities could be cardinal, fixed or mutable.